North Central College - Naperville, IL

Student journalists earn Illinois College Press Association awards

Print Email Share

Contact: Ted Slowik [], director of PR and media relations, 630-637-5307

Feb. 28, 2011—Student journalists from North Central College have earned eight awards for excellence from the Illinois College Press Association (IPCA).

The awards were announced at the ICPA’s annual conference Feb. 18-19 in Chicago. Thirty-six college newspapers and 290 student journalists from throughout Illinois participated in the annual journalism contest, which is co-sponsored by the ICPA and the Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette. Entries are judged by professional editors who are members of the Illinois Press Association.

North Central’s student newspaper, The Chronicle, received third-place honors for general excellence in the division of non-dailies under 4,000 enrollment.

Chronicle sports writer Geoffrey Clark, a junior from Lombard, earned a second-place award for sports game story. Contributing writer Craig Forrestal, a junior from Crystal Lake, received a second-place award for sports feature.

The Chronicle also picked up a third-place award for front-page layout. The award was presented to co-editor-in-chief and campus editor Jenna Markowski, a junior from Lombard; Anna Seifert, a 2010 graduate from North Aurora; and co-editor-in-chief and news editor Abbey Smith, a senior from Mineral Point, Wis.

Seifert also earned third-place honors for headline writing. Andrew Macnider, a 2009 graduate from Hoffman Estates, received a third-place award for general news photo. Contributor R. Cameron Sweatman, a senior from Springfield, Ill., picked up an honorable mention for column, non-sports. Smith earned an honorable mention for news story.

North Central’s Chronicle student newspaper, which was first published in 1873, may be viewed online at Faculty advisor is Philip Glende, visiting assistant professor of English. North Central College offers majors in journalism, interactive media and other areas of communications studies. Visit to learn more about North Central’s journalism program. Visit to learn more about the ICPA.

Founded in 1861 and celebrating its Sesquicentennial in 2011, North Central College is an independent, comprehensive college of the liberal arts and sciences that offers more than 55 undergraduate majors and graduate programming in six areas. Located in the Historic District of Naperville, Illinois—rated by Money magazine as among the nation’s “Best Places to Live”—North Central College is just 30 minutes from Chicago’s Loop. With more than 2,900 undergraduate and graduate students, North Central College is committed to academic excellence, a climate that emphasizes leadership, ethics, values and service, a curriculum that balances job-related knowledge with a liberal arts foundation and a caring environment with small classes. Visit to learn more.

Klariza Alvaran, a junior from Barrington Hills, Ill.; Lindsay Berghuis, a junior from Joliet, Ill.; Kim Ippolito, a sophomore from Bartlett, Ill.; Markowski, and were in attendance at the conference to accept the awards.

North Central Chronicle staff members have received eight awards from the Illinois College Press Association, including third place for general excellence.

The weekly campus paper also received two second-place awards, three other third-place awards, and two honorable mentions for work published during 2010. The awards were presented in Chicago Saturday, Feb. 19, during the annual conference of the college press association.

In addition to the general excellence award, which is based on three issues set by contest rules, these students won awards for individual entries:

    * Geoffrey Clark, second place, sports game story.  Junior, Lombard, Ill., broadcast communication
    * Craig Forrestal, second place, sports feature. Junior, Crystal Lake, Ill., organizational communication
    *  Abbey Smith, Anna Seifert and Jenna Markowski, third place, front page layout. Senior, Mineral Point, Wis., print journalism and global studies: international relations. 2010 graduate from North Aurora, Ill. Junior, Lombard, Ill., print journalism
    *  Anna Seifert, third place, headlines.
    * Andrew Macnider, third place, general news photo. 2010 graduate from Hoffman Estates, Ill.
    * R. Cameron Sweatman, honorable mention, column, non-sports. Senior, Springfield, Ill., print journalism
    * Abbey Smith, honorable mention, news story.

Accepting the awards for the Chronicle staff were Jenna Markowski, co-editor-in-chief and campus editor; Lindsay Berghuis (junior, interactive media studies: convergent media, Joliet, Ill., arts editor; Klariza Alvaran, assistant campus editor; and Kim Ippolito (sophomore, Bartlett, Ill., broadcast communication), sports writer; accompanied by Philip Glende, visiting assistant professor of English and Chronicle adviser. The ceremony was held at the DoubleTree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile.   

Photo caption/misc pics folder: Chronicle staff members traveled to Chicago Saturday, Feb. 19, to pick up eight awards from the Illinois College Press Association. From left are Kim Ippolito, Jenna Markowski, Lindsay Berghuis, and Klariza Alvaran.