North Central College - Naperville, IL

North Central student journalists earn 17 awards for excellence

Print Email Share

Contact: Nancy Dunker, associate director of public relations, 630-637-5306,

Feb. 24, 2010—Twenty-two student journalists from North Central College have earned 17 awards for excellence from the Illinois College Press Association (ICPA).

The awards were announced at the ICPA’s annual conference Feb. 19-20 in Chicago. Thirty-six college newspapers and 290 student journalists from throughout Illinois participated in the annual journalism contest, which is co-sponsored by the ICPA and the Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette. Entries are judged by professional editors who are members of the Illinois Press Association.

North Central’s student newspaper, The Chronicle, received an honorable mention for general excellence in the division of non-dailies under 4,000 enrollment.

In a special category, Chronicle photo editor Andrew Macnider, a senior from Hoffman Estates, received an honorable mention in the Chicago Shootout competition. Macnider and 14 other student photojournalists were given two hours to explore the city and capture an image representing the theme “contrast.” Entries were critiqued and judged by professional photographers Chuck Berman of the Chicago Tribune and Steve Kagan, a freelance photojournalist and former New York Times photographer. Macnider’s photo of a young boy in front of an oversized sculpture, “God Bless America,” based on the well-known “American Gothic” painting, was recognized with an honorable mention award.

In addition, Macnider won an honorable mention in the feature photo category. Former Chronicle photo editor Tim Herron, a 2009 graduate from Webster Groves, Mo., also received an honorable mention for feature photo.

Chronicle news editor Anna Seifert, a senior from North Aurora, Ill., earned a second-place award for front-page design. Contributing writer Emily Rademaker, a sophomore from Cary, IL, received a second-place award for column writing. Katie Dahlstrom, a senior from Yorkville, was awarded a second-place honor for sports news story. Chronicle co-sports editor Stephanie Shoff, a senior from Mokena, Ill., received a second-place award for sports feature. Chronicle co-editor-in-chief Laurel White, a senior from Bloomington, Ill., earned a second-place honor for feature story.

The Chronicle also received a third-place honor for sports page design, judged on both layout and content. The award was presented to Chronicle co-sports editor Joe Norton, a senior from Carol Stream; and contributors Matthew McClarey, a senior from Roselle; Rebecca Sage, a freshman from Fox Lake; and Jeff Zagoudis, a senior from Palatine.

Chronicle staff members picked up an additional seven honorable mentions in various categories. Co-editor-in-chief Chad Comello, a senior from Middleton, Wis., received two honorable mentions for headline writing. Comello, along with assistant Forum editor Daniel Wehrli, a senior from Yorkville, also earned an honorable mention for editorial writing.

Contributor Ryan Piers, a junior from Washington, Ill., picked up an honorable mention in the sports game story category. Zeljka Kampel, a 2009 graduate from Naperville, earned an honorable mention for sports feature.

An honorable mention for in-depth reporting about North Central’s goal to increase campus diversity was awarded to the team of Chris Ackerman, a senior from Lincoln, Ill.; Stephanie Saffold, a 2009 graduate from Aurora, Ill.; Andrew Phillips, a 2009 graduate from Naperville; and Norton.

Another honorable mention for in-depth reporting about how students and the college are coping during the recession was awarded to Abbey Smith, a junior from Mineral Point, Wis.; Lillli Mauser, a 2009 graduate from Downers Grove; Holly Roadruck, a senior from Oak Park; and Shannon Earley, a senior from Elmhurst; and Zagoudis.

North Central’s Chronicle student newspaper was first published in 1873. The faculty advisor is Nancy Kirby, assistant professor of journalism.

North Central College offers majors in journalism, interactive media and other areas of communications studies.