North Central College - Naperville, IL

Ruge Fellows

The Ruge Fellowship Program recognizes North Central College senior faculty members who affirm the highest aspirations for teaching and excellence in their educational practices. Named for one of the College's most distinguished graduates — the program is designed to promote and reward excellence in teaching among senior faculty. Upon receipt of the Ruge Fellow title, awardees are acknowledged as campus leaders who are expected to witness for the continuing importance of great teaching and play a role in shaping the dialogue on campus about teaching.

Below are the current Ruge Fellows:

  • Dr. Mara Berkland
  • Dr. Lou Corsino
  • Dr. Nancy Keiser
  • Dr. Nancy Peterson

Past Ruge Fellows:

  • Dr. Diane Anstine
  • Dr. Stephen Maynard Caliendo
  • Dr. Karl Kelley
  • Dr. Lisa Long
  • Dr. Richard Paine
  • Dr. John Zenchak

Applicants undergo a rigorous selection process. Internal and external reviewers evaluate personal statements detailing their teaching philosophy and methods, their goals as teachers, ways they implemented their philosophies and goals, as well as student course evaluations and references.

The entire North Central College community congratulates our Ruge Fellows upon their achievements.

Dr. Daniel Ruge, Class of 1939

White House physician during President Ronald Reagan's first term, Dr. Dan Ruge received his medical degree in 1945 from Northwestern University and joined its faculty, becoming a professor of surgery. At Northwestern, he also received a master's in surgery and a doctorate in surgery. 

Dr. Ruge was a medical resident to Dr. Loyal Davis, Chicago's first brain surgeon and stepfather of Nancy Reagan, and became Davis' partner in a Chicago practice for more than 20 years. He practiced at Northwestern Memorial Hospital where he served as chief of staff and chairman of its neurosurgery division. He also joined the Veterans Administration practicing in VA hospitals in Chicago and Washington, D.C.

Dr. Ruge served on North Central College's Board of Trustees and was elected chairman in 1975. He passed away in August 2005.