North Central College - Naperville, IL

Modern and Classical Languages Faculty

Department Chairperson: Norval L. Bard, Professor of French
Norval L. Bard
Professor of French; Chairperson of Modern and Classical Languages; Director of the Roberta I. Myers Language Resource Center
B.A., Wheaton College, 1985; M.A., 1993, Ph.D., 1997, The Pennsylvania State University
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #104
630-637-5125
nlbard@noctrl.edu
Patricia Bayona
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Spanish
B.A., La Universidad de Los Andes, 1995; M.A., 2002; Ph.D., 2009, The University of Western Ontario
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #3
630-637-5298
pbayona@noctrl.edu
Michael Christopher de Brauw
Associate Professor of Modern and Classical Languages
B.A., University of Chicago, 1996; M.A., 1998, Ph.D., 2003, University of Texas at Austin
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #1
630-637-5123
mcdebrauw@noctrl.edu
Alberto Fonseca
Assistant Professor of Spanish
B.A., Literature, 2001, Universidad Nacional de Colombia; M.A., History, 2004, Virginia Tech; Ph.D., Spanish, 2009, The University of Kansas
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #101
630-637-5126
afonseca@noctrl.edu
Silvia Goldman
Assistant Professor of Spanish
B.A., Instituto Nacional de Docencia IPA, Montevideo, Uruguay, 2001; M.A., University of Washington, 2004; Ph.D., Brown University, 2011.
630-637-5129
sgoldman@noctrl.edu
Sophie Hand
Professor of French
B.A., Ursinus College, 1982; M.A., 1986, Ph.D., 1992, University of Wisconsin
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #103
630-637-5124
shand@noctrl.edu
Fukumi Matsubara
Professor of Japanese
B.A., Nara Women's University, 1981; M.S., George State University, 1990; Ph.D., Indiana University, 1997
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #106
630-637-5128
fmatsubara@noctrl.edu
Joanne M. Quimby
Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese
B.A., University of Massachusetts, 1992; M.A., 2000; Ph.D., 2010; Indiana University.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #5
630-637-5236
jmquimby@noctrl.edu
Beverly L. Richard Cook
Professor of Spanish
B.A., 1979, M.A., 1983, Ph.D., 1988, University of Kentucky
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #102
630-637-5127
blrichardcook@noctrl.edu
Jelena Sanchez
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Spanish
B.A., 1995; M.A., 1997; Ph.D., 2012, University of Illinois at Chicago
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #3
630-637-5275
jsanchez@noctrl.edu
Jinai Sun
Assistant Professor of Chinese
B.A., Harbin Normal University, 2001; M.Ed, 2009; Ph.D., 2011, The Pennsylvania State University.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #2
630-637-5263
jsun@noctrl.edu
Personal Page
Gregory H. Wolf
Dennis and Jean Bauman Professor in the Humanities; Professor of German
B.A., The University of the South, 1989; M.A., 1991, Ph.D., 1996, Ohio State University
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #105
630-637-5284
ghwolf@noctrl.edu