North Central College - Naperville, IL

GENDER AND WOMEN'S STUDIES FACULTY

Program Coordinator: Kelly Howe, Assistant Professor of Theatre
Mara K. Berkland
Associate Professor of Speech Communication; Ruge Fellow; Chairperson of Speech Communication and Media Studies
B.A., Gustavus Adolphus College, 1997; M.A., University of Denver, 1998; Ph.D., University of Utah, 2003
Office: Pfeiffer Hall, #7
630-637-5367
mkberkland@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Stephen Maynard Caliendo
Professor of Political Science; Ruge Fellow; Chairperson, Division of Human Thought and Behavior
B.A., Clarion University of Pennsylvania, 1993; M.A., 1995, Ph.D., 1998, Purdue University
Office: 330 E. Van Buren, #202
630-637-5344
smcaliendo@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Michael Christopher de Brauw
Associate Professor of Modern and Classical Languages
B.A., University of Chicago, 1996; M.A., 1998, Ph.D., 2003, University of Texas at Austin
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #1
630-637-5123
mcdebrauw@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Sara J. Eaton
Professor of English
B.S., 1970, Ph.D., 1985, University of Minnesota
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #203
630-637-5279
sjeaton@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Gerald R. Gems
Professor of Health and Physical Education
B.A., Northeastern Illinois University, 1977; M.S., University of Arizona, 1980; Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1989
Office: Merner Field House, #103E
630-637-5502
grgems@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Sophie Hand
Professor of French
B.A., Ursinus College, 1982; M.A., 1986, Ph.D., 1992, University of Wisconsin
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #103
630-637-5124
shand@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Kelly B Howe
Assistant Professor of Theater; Coordinator of Gender and Women's Studies
B.A., Muhlenberg College, 2003; M.A., 2006; Ph.D., 2010, University of Texas
Office: Fine Arts Center, #39
630-637-5297
kbhowe@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Shereen F. Ilahi
Associate Professor of History
B.A., 1998, M.A., 2002, Ph.D., 2008, University of Texas, Austin
Office: 225 N. Loomis House, #21
630-637-5616
silahi@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Jennifer A. Jackson
Associate Professor of English; Director of the Writing Center and First-Year Writing
B.A., 1979, M.A., 1985, Miami University, Ohio; Ph.D., Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, 1992
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #201
630-637-5278
jajackson@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Jennifer L. Keys
Associate Professor of Sociology
B.A., Ohio University, 1993; Ph.D., State University of New York at Albany, 2002
Office: 116 S. Brainard House, #104
630-637-5313
jlkeys@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Lisa A. Long
Professor of English; Chairperson, Division of Arts and Letters
B.A., University of Minnesota, 1989; M.A., 1991, Ph.D., 1997, University of Wisconsin
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #204
630-637-5286
lalong@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Stephen H. Macek
Professor of Speech Communication; Coordinator of Urban and Suburban Studies
B.A., University of Wisconsin at Madison, 1987; M.A., 1993, Ph.D., 2001, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Office: Pfeiffer Hall, #38
630-637-5369
shmacek@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Heidi M. Matthews
Professor of Health and Physical Education; Chairperson of Health and Physical Education; Director of Athletic Training Education Program
B.S., University of Wisconsin, 1981; M.S., University of Arizona, 1982
Office: Res/Rec Center, #1125S
630-637-5511
hmmatthews@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Francine G. Navakas
Svend and Elizabeth Bramsen Professor in the Humanities; Professor of English; Director of Integrative Programs; Associate Academic Dean
B.A., University of Chicago, 1968; M.A., University of California at Berkeley, 1969; Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1972
Office: Old Main, #534
630-637-5285
fgnavakas@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Wioleta D. Polinska
Professor of Religious Studies; Chairperson of Philosophy and Religious Studies
Magister of Microbiology, Warsaw University, 1986; M.Div., Bethel Theological Seminary, 1991; Ph.D., Princeton Theological Seminary, 1997
Office: 225 N. Loomis House, #13
630-637-5317
wdpolinska@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Beverly L. Richard Cook
Professor of Spanish
B.A., 1979, M.A., 1983, Ph.D., 1988, University of Kentucky
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #102
630-637-5127
blrichardcook@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Carin D. Silkaitis
Assistant Professor of Theatre; Chairperson of Art and Theatre; Theatre Program Coordinator
B.A., Indiana University, 1993; M.F.A., The Theatre Conservatory, Roosevelt University, 1998
Office: Fine Arts Center, #38
630-637-5376
cdsilkaitis@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
John J. Zenchak
Professor of Biology
B.A., Youngstown State University, 1966; M.S., 1970, Ph.D., 1976, West Virginia University
Office: Kroehler Science Center, #205
630-637-5182
jjzenchak@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile