North Central College - Naperville, IL

English Studies Faculty

Department Chairperson: Martha L. Bohrer, Associate Professor of English
David C. Aitchison
Adjunct Assistant Professor of English
B.A., University of Stirling, 2003; M.Phil, University of Glasgow, 2004; M.A., Boston University, 2006; M.A., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2012.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #11
630-637-5220
dcaitchison@noctrl.edu
Jennifer J. Berner
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
B.A., Brown University, 2000; Ed.M., Harvard University, 2003; M.Phil., Unversity of Glasgow, 2004; Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, 2013.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #216
630-637-5283
jjberner@noctrl.edu
Martha L. Bohrer
Associate Professor of English; Chairperson of English
B.S.S., Cornell College, 1978; M.A., Miami University, Ohio, 1996; Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2003.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #217
630-637-5273
mlbohrer@noctrl.edu
Judith A. Brodhead
Associate Professor of English; Administrative Coordinator of Cultural Events
B.A., 1973, M.A., 1976, Rutgers University
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #207
630-637-5276
jabrodhead@noctrl.edu
Sabryna Leigh Cornish
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Journalism
B.A., 1992; M.A., 1995; Northern Illinois University; Ph.D., University of Illinois, 2008.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #11
630-637-5135
slcornish@noctrl.edu
Sara J. Eaton
Professor of English
B.S., 1970, Ph.D., 1985, University of Minnesota
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #203
630-637-5279
sjeaton@noctrl.edu
Richard R. Guzman
Professor of English; Coordinator of Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Program
B.A., University of California at Berkeley, 1971; M.A., California State University at Hayward, 1973; Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1977
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #210
630-637-5280
rrguzman@noctrl.edu
Personal Page
Zachary M. Jack
Associate Professor of English
B.A., Iowa State University, 1996; M.F.A., University of Alabama, 2001
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #200
630-637-5281
zmjack@noctrl.edu
Personal Page
Jennifer A. Jackson
Associate Professor of English; Director of the Writing Center and First-Year Writing
B.A., 1979, M.A., 1985, Miami University, Ohio; Ph.D., Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, 1992
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #201
630-637-5278
jajackson@noctrl.edu
Personal Page
Sean A Labbe
Adjunct Assistant Professor of English
B.A., UC Berkeley, 1994; M.A., Northern Illinois University, 2007; Ph.D., Loyola University, 2013.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #202
630-637-5282
salabbe@noctrl.edu
Lisa A. Long
Professor of English; Chairperson, Division of Arts and Letters
B.A., University of Minnesota, 1989; M.A., 1991, Ph.D., 1997, University of Wisconsin
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #204
630-637-5286
lalong@noctrl.edu
Francine G. Navakas
Svend and Elizabeth Bramsen Professor in the Humanities; Professor of English; Director of Integrative Programs; Associate Academic Dean
B.A., University of Chicago, 1968; M.A., University of California at Berkeley, 1969; Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1972
Office: Old Main, #534
630-637-5285
fgnavakas@noctrl.edu
Personal Page
Mary K O'Donnell
Assistant Professor of Journalism
B.A., University of Southwester Louisiana, 1987; M.A., University of New Orleans, 1992; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University, 2010.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #10
630-637-5290
mkodonnell@noctrl.edu
Megan Cole Paustian
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
B.A., University of Wisconsin, 2007; M.A., 2011, Ph.D., 2013, Rutgers University.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #206
630-637-5274
mcpaustian@noctrl.edu
Dee Anna Phares
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
B.A., 1997; M.A., 2000, Ph.D., 2010, University of Nevada; M.A., King's College, 2002
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #208
630-637-5122
dphares@noctrl.edu
Matthias G Regan
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
B.A., Connecticut College, 1992; M.A., Boston University, 1995; Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2007.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #212
630-637-5291
mgregan@noctrl.edu
Sohinee Roy
Assistant Professor of English
B.A., 2000, M.A., 2002, Jadavpur University, Ph.D. 2011, West Virginia University.
Office: Kiekhofer Hall, #205
630-637-5292
sroy@noctrl.edu
John H. Shindler
Professor of English; Director of International Programs
B.A., Williams College, 1968; Ph.D., Rutgers University, 1975
Office: Abe House, #101
630-637-5287
jhshindler@noctrl.edu