North Central College - Naperville, IL

Modern and Classical Languages Faculty

Department Chairperson: Norval L. Bard, Professor of French
Norval Bard
Professor of French; Chairperson of Modern and Classical Languages
B.A., Wheaton College, 1985; M.A., 1993, Ph.D., 1997, The Pennsylvania State University
630-637-5125
nlbard@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Patricia Bayona
Assistant Professor of Spanish
B.A., La Universidad de Los Andes, 1995; M.A., 2002; Ph.D., 2009, The University of Western Ontario
630-637-5298
pbayona@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Beth Carter
Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese
B.A., Sarah Lawrence College, 1999; M.A., Johns Hopkins University, 2006; M.A., University of Pennsylvania, 2011; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 2016
630-637-5236
bmcarter@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Michael de Brauw
Associate Professor of Modern and Classical Languages
B.A., University of Chicago, 1996; M.A., 1998, Ph.D., 2003, University of Texas at Austin
630-637-5123
mcdebrauw@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Alberto Fonseca
Associate Professor of Spanish
B.A., Literature, 2001, Universidad Nacional de Colombia; M.A., History, 2004, Virginia Tech; Ph.D., Spanish, 2009, The University of Kansas
630-637-5126
afonseca@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Silvia Goldman
Assistant Professor of Spanish
B.A., Instituto Nacional de Docencia IPA, Montevideo, Uruguay, 2001; M.A., University of Washington, 2004; Ph.D., Brown University, 2011.
630-637-5277
sgoldman@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Sophie Hand
Professor of French
B.A., Ursinus College, 1982; M.A., 1986, Ph.D., 1992, University of Wisconsin
630-637-5124
shand@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Fukumi Matsubara
Professor of Japanese
B.A., Nara Women's University, 1981; M.S., Georgia State University, 1990; Ph.D., Indiana University, 1997
630-637-5128
fmatsubara@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Melissa McCarron
Half-Time Assistant Professor of Spanish; Director of the Language Resource Center
B.A., University at Albany, SUNY, 2002; M.A. Yale University, 2003; M.A., New York University, 2004; Ph.D., University at Albany, SUNY, 2012
630-637-5164
mjmccarron@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Beverly Richard Cook
Professor of Spanish
B.A., 1979, M.A., 1983, Ph.D., 1988, University of Kentucky
630-637-5127
blrichardcook@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Jelena Sanchez
Half-Time Assistant Professor of Spanish
B.A., 1995; M.A., 1997; Ph.D., 2012, University of Illinois at Chicago
630-637-5275
jsanchez@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Jinai Sun
Assistant Professor of Chinese
B.A., Harbin Normal University, 2001; M.Ed, 2009; Ph.D., 2011, The Pennsylvania State University.
630-637-5263
jsun@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Esra Tasdelen
Visiting Assistant Professor of Arabic and Middle Eastern and North African Studies; Coordinator of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
B.A., Sabanci University, 2003; M.A., 2005; M.A., 2007; Ph.D., 2014, University of Chicago.
630-637-5108
etasdelen@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Ivy Walters
Lecturer of Spanish
B.A., Lawrence University, 2005; M.A., Saint Louis University, 2007; Ph.D., Indiana University, 2013.
630-637-5227
ihwalters@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile
Gregory H. Wolf
Dennis and Jean Bauman Professor in the Humanities; Professor of German
B.A., The University of the South, 1989; M.A., 1991, Ph.D., 1996, Ohio State University
630-637-5284
ghwolf@noctrl.edu
Faculty Profile